Sponsors - managing your group

Managing your users

Here is a list of some of the most common Grid Identity Manager actions that a sponsor will need to respond to:

Warning

Automated requests to you from the Grid Identity Manager program will time out in 28 days if you have not responded, and the requested action will not occur. For example, if an approval request for a new user’s account times out, then that account will not be created.

New user

You and any appointed delegate(s) will receive an approval request for each person who applies for an account and selects you as their sponsor. Such requests typically come from your student advisees or researchers working under your supervision.

Note

Approve or disapprove the sponsorship by following a single-use link that will be sent to you via email from accounts@idre.ucla.edu.

User renewal

Each year on or near the date of the original account application, each user will receive a renewal notice. If he/she requests renewal under your sponsorship, you will receive an approval request. Users who renew with a different sponsor will have their Hoffman2 Cluster group changed accordingly to that of the new sponsor. No further action will be required from you unless the users have data under a project directory belonging to your group.

Note

Approve or disapprove the yearly account renewal under your sponsorship by following a single-use link that will be sent to you via email from accounts@idre.ucla.edu.

Expired user

If an account is not renewed, it expires. When an account has expired, the Accounts Administrator will contact you about the disposition of the account and its files. If you agree, the account will be disabled and the user will no longer be able to login or use Hoffman2 Cluster services.

Note

Respond to inquires regarding expired accounts.

Deleted user

An account which has been disabled for six months will be deleted. Both the account and all $HOME and $SCRATCH files owned by that account will be removed from the system.

Note

Be aware that disabled accounts will be deleted after six months.